Happy House Sitters

based on 69 reviews
Write a review

69 reviews about Happy House Sitters

12 Sep 2016

Hi folks my wife and i have been using the house sitters for a number of years ans have found iti an excellent service , with little or no trouble, until the last house sitters. we had no complaints about the way they looked after our house and animals., but we were a little disappointed when we found out that they had invited other people to stay at our home without our permission. we believe that should never happen without permission, our home is not a hotel, motel or a do drop inn,

Hello,
We also believe that the sitters should under no circumstances invite visitors into the home they are sitting. (Unless they do have permission) I would like to get in touch with the owner for you so that they can be sure what our expectations are. Can you email or phone us? admin@happyhousesitters.com.au 1300 780 809

04 Aug 2016

We have used Happy House Sitters and would highly recommend their Sitters! Trustworthy, Going above and beyond expectations are how I would describe their Sitters. "Well done!"

Approximate cost: $0

02 Feb 2016


We have used the Happy House Sitters website service for several years now. It is a cut above similar services in my opinion. The admin team are keen to listen to user feedback and the website is well managed. The quality of house sitters has been generally high. If I need to email for an enquiry about the site or other matters Malcolm and his team are always quick and efficient in responding.

I would gladly recommend Happy House Sitters to anyone seeking to connect with potential house and pet sitters.

01 Feb 2016

After planning a six-week holiday overseas and then being let down by a family friend who had planned to house-sit my menagerie of animals, I contacted Ruth at Happy House Sitters and poured out my woes. Ruth was very helpful and explained how to set up my advert. Within 2 days I received a message from a lovely retired couple from Melbourne who were coming to Qld for the winter. They looked after my 2 dogs, 2 cats, 5 chooks and 2 guinea fowl with great care. I was thrilled with the way they looked after all the animals and they even cleaned my house thoroughly before my return. I have offered them a sit whenever they are passing by.

01 Feb 2016

We have used your services 4 times now with sits in Queensland and Victoria.
The first sit was for 6 weeks and was on a 5 acre allotment in QLD, the house had 3 bedrooms with all mod cons. Even though we were traveling in our caravan, the owner made the house open to us.
The second sit was for 2 weeks and was a lovely 4 bedroom house in the suburbs of Melbourne. They had a swimming pool that we could use.
The third was a smaller house in country VIC and again it had all mod cons.
The last sit was for 3 weeks in country QLD the house was a small cottage style on several acres
In these sits we have had the pleasure of looking after a verity of animals including dogs, cats, guinea fowls, ducks and chooks.
Your website made each of these bookings very easy to apply for, and each of the home owners got back to us in a very timely manner.
We have recommended your site to others who were equally happy with the sits they have arranged.

31 Jan 2016

I decided to try this service so my dogs did not have the stress of going to a kennel and could be looked after in their own home and I have to admit I was very nervous and left specific instructions. A house sitter was booked from 19/12/15 till 30/1/16. Unfortunately by the 5/1/16 he had cancelled due to a family illness which couldn't be helped and it is understandable that he would want to be there to support his brother. It did end up leaving us overseas needing to find someone to mind our 3 dogs for the remainder of our vacation. This aside however, he was left with specific instructions that our dogs were not to be left outside when he went out because they bark. On Christmas day, he left them outside and some of the neighbours from the back street were wandering around our home looking for the source of barking dogs who had apparently been barking most of the day. They threatened to call the rangers. Fortunately, the neighbour across the road from us spoke to them and then contacted us to inform us of the situation. We had to phone and talk to the sitter from the USA. He was also asked not to let the dogs off lead at the park and I found out that he was doing this too.
One of the dogs urinated in the bedroom (looks like 3 times) and it doesn't look like he made much attempt to clean up the mess as there are yellow stains up the curtain and on the new carpet. I did speak to him about this and he admitted it was one of the dogs who was spending time in the bedroom with him. Dogs were supposed to sleep in the laundry. Seems like he totally ignored any of our specific instructions. The only other things we asked were to collect the mail and water a couple of pot plants. It seems the mail was left in the box for a while as some of it was saturated by the reticulation. Overall not impressed and would be very hesitant using this service again. I think I will go back to using a kennel and relying on neighbours to keep an eye on the house.

Thank you for your feedback. Im sorry to hear you had a negative experience. Regrettably nothing works perfectly 100% of the time but we are always striving to improve our service and what you have described is unacceptable. Unfortunately I dont know who you are or who you are referring to.

However, please let us know directly if you discover these things so we can take appropriate action. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss.

Ruth Myers
Manager
Happy House Sitters
PH: 0425 722 184

veronicat946 02 Feb 2016 · 60% Trust

I received an email from Happy House Sitters pretty much straight away regarding my review and they were most helpful in asking for more information and offering to follow up on my comments with the house sitter concerned.

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

I Joined Happy House Sitters this year but had so much difficulty finding house sitters . In June I wrote to so many and with greatest difficulty managed to find someone for two nights. In September I was travellng overseas and out of the the two house sitters who responded, one failed to failed to show up at my place and the other called in sick .

In July Again I advertised for someone to look after my puppy while I am away in December and this lady came and saw my puppy and agreed to look after her . But when I contacted her again in November she kept sending messages saying that I didn't confirm . Why would I see her at my place and discuss and agree to her recommendations if I didn't want her to mind my puppy ?

It is so frustrating and disappointing because these house sitters constantly let me down because of their lack of commitment. We should be able to rate these House sitters so others will know how unrealiable they are.

Thank you for your feedback and thanks for using our FREE service. It's a very unfortunate and luckily an unusual situation you found yourself in. I'm really sorry to hear about it. The vast majority of our sitters and home owners are extremely reliable and responsible. On the few occasions where sitters (or home owners) have been unreliable we try very hard to fix the situation so neither side gets let down.

We do have the facility to rate sitters and home owners on the site. Unfortunately, as you posted this anonymously, I can't contact you. Should you ever be in a situation like this again, please know that we are always here to help and will do our utmost to remedy the situation.

We encourage members to call us on 1300 780 809 if a sticky situation occurs so we can sort it out.

Regards

Malcolm Myers
Happy House Sitters

22 Jun 2015

Used this company to look after the cat as I had to take a trip away all of a sudden... the cat seemd happy, no fretting at all. very happy as they cleaned up after themselves

Approximate cost: $60

13 May 2015

We have just posted our third advert with you and can only hope that we are as fortunate this time as we have been in the past. It is always so good to have peace of mind knowing that while we are away our pets are well looked after & our home is lived-in rather than locked up & reliant on our neighbours/friends. We still keep in touch with our previous sitters who were both excellent and always in demand .. which is why they are not available this time round! We are very grateful for your service ... so here's hoping for another success and a relaxing break away. Many thanks. Pauline R.

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

I am currently subscribed to three online House-Sitting websites, and can honestly say that compared to their competitors, "Happy House Sitters" service delivery is so bad that I would strongly recommend against using them. Unlike their competitors, HHS charge a hefty fee for every geographical zone you select. Thus subscribers are limited to only those house-sitting opportunities falling within one's particular zone. If you want to broaden your search by even a few additional kilometers, you are required to pay the full fee for access to the adjacent zone.
However, adding to one's frustration is the fact that navigating their website is difficult, and their search engine does not work effectively, with the result that opportunities falling within one's zone are not always picked up.
Over the past thirty days, I have received only two notifications from HHS, compared to an average of FIVE PER DAY from the other service providers.
Worst still, they have not bothered to respond to my written complaint about their lack of service delivery, despite my warning that I would go public about my dissatisfaction unless matters improved.
In my opinion, this service is definitely not worth the fee being charged, and should be avoided.

Firstly - Apologies for the delay in responding. We were horrified to discover our first bad review from you only today â?? nearly a month later! Just to clarify, Itâ??s true we have the option of buying a single zone - BUT a whole state is only $89 or the whole country is $99. This means that subscribers do NOT have to buy individual zones to broaden their search. Zones are designed for people who wish to sit in a specific area only, usually for school or work reasons.

Unfortunately you did not provide a name, but if you contact us I can search for the emails you sent and investigate what happened. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are the only house-sitting company open on the phones for 12 hours a day 7 days a week. Please call and we will sort this out quickly. We can also discuss upgrading to an All Australia membership.

Regards

Ruth Myers
Happy House Sitters
happyhousesitters.com.au
1300 780 809

Write a review

Business Awards

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account