based on 100 reviews
  • Ballarat, VIC 3350
    By referral only
  • 0000... Click to show
  • Opening Hours (Saturday: Closed)
  • Payment methods
    Eftpos, Credit and Cash

100 reviews about Vanilah

20 Apr 2016

I had a style cut and balayage done by Michelle; as a new resident in Ballarat, the $200 voucher encouraged me to get my hair done when I probably wouldn't have otherwise.

Initially, it was just something nice to feel good about myself, as I've had so many bad or average experiences with hairdressers, but having my hair done has been AMAZING. I actually waited about a month before making this review, to see how my hair settled and started growing, and it's only gotten better.

Michelle was lovely to talk to, and I felt that she not only listened to what I wanted, but actually had an idea of what would look good on me - something many hairdressers don't. For example, she mentioned when I asked for layers that she didn't think a fringe of any sort would suit my particular face shape, something I had worked out in the last few years, but wish I'd been told earlier! Many hairdressers seem to take a trendy style and apply it to your hair, without working out whether it will look good on you - I expect when I'm paying a lot of money that the hairdresser is there to tell me what will or won't suit me!

The balayage looks amazing, and is exactly what I wanted, as is the cut. The only down side to the haircut and colour is that I booked in for July, before I go overseas, to get a refresh ... and I don't think I'll actually need it! The cut and colour are so good that they could easily last a year before I need another (I have longish hair)!

I also really loved the salon. It feels quiet and peaceful, not loud and garish as some salons are.

Although I'm not sure yet if I will go back in July, I am 100% sure that I won't be trusting anyone else to do my hair! A great hair style and cut makes you feel amazing weeks after you've walked out of the salon (not just the first hour), and that's exactly what I got.

Thank you so much, I'll definitely be back!

Oh, and while there were a couple of reviews about bad assistants, I know Michelle had a trainee while I was there (I can't remember her name!) who was completely lovely. She's the first person who's ever asked if the blow dryer was too hot (ever had to pull your hair away from an overenthusiastic hairdresser who is burning your scalp to get them to take the hint?), and I got a lovely head massage and wash.

I haven't been anywhere else in Ballarat, but I definitely recommend Vanilah to anyone looking for a great experience - it is more than worth the money! (Note - the price was $240, including a treatment, but because of the voucher I only paid $40)

Approximate cost: $240

Vanilah 04 May 2016

Katy that's an amazing review. Thank you.
Maddie my assistant is a true gem.
We hope your holiday is fantastic. Hair always needs a treat after holiday even if you get it done before you go, so save it for when you come back. Also I will be moving locations in June, like us on Facebook so you don't miss the news.
Kindest regards

22 Jul 2015

The best haircutters in Ballarat without a doubt, Just come back from having my haircut by Michelle and I feel 10 years younger.
She is a perfectionist and is as good if not better than any of the hairdressers I went to in Melbourne when I lived there. She obviously keeps up with the latest trends as do the other girls there.

03 Jul 2015

I had a horrible experience - I booked with a fully qualified hairdresser and was given the apprentice who started to hack at my hair, one side of layers was 2 inches long, the other was 4 inches long and looked bad so the owner tried to sell me extensions to cover their mistake. I'm still growing out this horror of a hack. When I complained and tried to ring the owner her husband would constantly say she was sleeping, busy or not available and I should not complain. I spent a lot of money on this hack and feel sad and embarrassed that I had to pay - they've never apologised :(

Approximate cost: $55

Vanilah 11 Oct 2015

Hi Bunny, I'm not really sure how to respond to your review. We do not offer extensions services and at the date of your review we did not have an apprentice who owned a pair of scissors. Our going rate for a hair cut is $67.
We did how ever have 2 problem staff that sad to say have defiantly damaged Vanilahs reputation for a small time. I am now only just finding the extent of that damage. The date of your review does suggest your visit co-insides with a very tumultuous time and if you would like me to asses your hair I would be happy to. Please contact my salon co-coordinator and reference this review and make a time and see if we can turn a bad situation into something better.
Kind Regards

02 Jul 2015

Very well treated with a soothing vibe. With friendly, talented and comfortable staff, I felt like I was being treated to the very best with perfect manners and kind hearted staff. I love Vanilah and it is my new go to hairdressers.

Approximate cost: $40

20 Jun 2015

The staff at Vanilah are wonderful. Rebekah is a fabulous hair dresser who gives thoughtful advice, knows her products inside out and backwards and is honest in recommending what suits and what works for each person's hair. It's a real luxury going to get my hair cut here! Highly recommend the Kerastase treatments!

Vanilah 11 Oct 2015

Hello lovely,
Thank you for taking the time to review. You have always been a valued client. All the best for the future and look after yourself.
Kind Regards

16 May 2015

Didn't expect the lovely massage before the haircut, very relaxing and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Because of some disappointing experiences with other hairdressers, I decided to visit Vanilah and very happy that I did. I've always believed that consistency is the go and pleased with the way Sam cuts my hair. I am sure it will be an ongoing experience.

14 May 2015

Can't recommend Vanilah highly enough. Always courteous and professional. It is nice to go to a salon where the staff are unpretentious and actually listen to what you want. I am new to Ballarat and researched salons before moving here. Vanilah had the best reviews. I now won't go to another salon. Excellent value for money.

21 Apr 2015

Exemplary service but more importantly, really really good hair. This is a salon based on wonderfully traditional customer service ideals married with the most cutting edge hairdressing. Clearly the top in their class. I have had great service from Sam and the most exceptional service And the best colour ever from Michelle. Worth the wait for an appointment.

Approximate cost: $200

21 Apr 2015

I moved to Ballarat and mum recommended I get my hair cut from Michelle at Vanilah. It sounded like a nice place and was amazing inside, but I was reluctant to get my hair cut as so often hair dressers get it wrong. I was treated like a princess and told I should be a hair model and walked out feeling (and looking) like a million dollars. Hands down the best hairdressers in Ballarat

Approximate cost: $60

15 Mar 2015

I am new to Ballarat & need my haircut. I read the reviews & thought I would give Vanilah Hair Salon a try. I told the lady on the phone that I was new to town so she told me where the street the salon was on. I had parked at the wrong end of Camp Street. Upon entering the salon, I told the lady at behind the counter who I was. She asked me to take a seat first. She didn't introduce herself. We discussed what would be done with my hair. She washed me hair then I received a short complimentary head massage which was nice & then she started my haircut. Still no name. I read online that the salon was open to 8pm but was told it would be closing at 7pm because of lack of clients at a busy time of the year. I thought it was odd that there were only 2 customers on their salon. I believe the way to know if a business is good is to see how many customers they have. In all the salon I have been in, I am always asked it I would like coffee/tea & it seems like a standard thing these days. I had to ask for a coffee. And then I was charge almost $70 (which I knew about ahead of time) & felt there was no special treatment with me. No coffee/tea offered & no introduction. I also have a problem with significant hairloss & asked for advice. She gave me a minute sample of product that they sell without showing it to me or telling me prices so nothing was solved. I didn't feel important in this salon & the haircut was ok but nothing special. I only had a re-style. Maybe because I only paid $67 dollars, I was just an ordinary client. I will not return. Maybe one of the other salons in Ballarat will know how to treat their clients. Also my details are usually taken down so when I come back next time, they will know what I had. Very outdated for such a nice looking salon.

Approximate cost: $67

Vanilah 24 Mar 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, there is no excuse when it comes to introducing our selves. This review highlights the importance of small details, they are often the most important.
We are a small team and close at 6pm Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. 5pm on Friday.
You may be interested to know that the city of Ballarat offer a new residents voucher book to help you connect to local business. We have a generous offer as do other salons I can only hope that you may use it in the future and review us again with a similar rating to our other reviews. Thank you with this we grow.
Kind Regards
Michelle- Business Owner

Bunny 03 Jul 2015 · 100% Trust

Yeah I hear you, boiling hot day and I was not even offered water - I did not get a head massage. The lady on reception ran off to get her dad a coffee whilst he was seated at reception and I was stuck with the apprentice whilst the senior hairdresser strolled around preening. Wonder if that's you get when you don't pay $100+ ps I got charged full price for apprentice who ruined my hair.

Write a review

Business Awards

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account