10 reviews about Bokchoy Tang

27 Feb 2014

We enjoyed a very nice meal at Bokchoy Tang yesterday evening for my daughter's birthday. The restaurant is spacious and airy and decor is beautiful. The staff were very polite and attentive. The food was delicious and full of flavour. We particularly enjoyed the Princess Margaret mocktails and the stir-fried pumpkin and spinach. The staff also put a sparkler on my daughter's cake when serving it, a nice little touch to make the evening special. We will definitely be back again.

30 May 2012

I went there with my family and friends last time when we traveled to Melbourne. Tasty courses and nice staff.

Approximate cost: $16

29 May 2012

Visited this restaurant many times... Love the dumplings and always fresh foods. Service can be a little slow and lack luster ... Sadly my last visit I was served seafood dumplings and not vegetarian dumplings. Was surprised there was no apology for this!!! Will rethink before next visiting

Approximate cost: $22

lusianac
#711 in Melbourne VIC
337 reviews · 100% trust · 39525 points
27 Apr 2012

We don't usually go to fine dining unless for a celebration. My partner took me and his younger brother to this place to celebrate the brother's birthday. The service was first class as expected from fine dining establishments. We went on a weekday and there were not many other customers at the time so we had the waitress' whole attention. The waitress was very attentive and always there to top up our rice and drinks. The foods were very delicate and flavoursome. The presentation of foods were so exquisite. However I must say, the portions are pretty small.

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

My recent visit to Bokchoy Tang has been disappointing. It was a slow day however service was slow. The waiting staff seems very inexperienced and would stand together chatting rather than tend to our empty dishes. When asked for the desert menu, we didnt get anything. I was happy with the food.

Approximate cost: $25.00

09 May 2011

Go to Bokchoy Tang regularly with the family and we love the food. Food is always consistent and the staff remember us making it a very enjoyable evening. The servings are large and given its location it is value for money. Recommend the place, i suggest skip the entrees and order the mains as they are really very tasty, especially the poached szechwan fish, the eggplant hotpot and the spicy prawn.

Approximate cost: $25

19 Aug 2010

Went out for a special occasion dinner with a group of (6) friends and ordered one of the banquets. Serves were small and the food quality poor. Restaurant was also quite empty for a Saturday night. Not surprising given the lack of quality of food and service. Won't be going back as there is plenty of good modern Chinese places to choose from in Melbourne.

Approximate cost: $45


Review under investigation
This review is currently being investigated by the Word of Mouth team and it does not affect the business' overall rating. This review will either be confirmed or removed once our inquiry is complete.
01 Apr 2009

We have been there a number of times and the food and service is always excellent. Large Variety of modern chinese cuisine and great wine list. Indulgent night out.

Approximate cost: $30

01 Nov 2008

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne. Just remember it is on the top floor of the Crossbar. You will never be disappointed with the food. It is great value for money and the service is exceptional. The decor is modern with a twist of Asian decor. I'll be back again.

Approximate cost: $30 for a main

14 Apr 2008

Excellent contemporary Northern Chinese restaurant. We went there for a group gathering, being Chinese the food was authentic and interesting (Chinese with a twist and foreigner friendly), and the ambiance/environment was fantastic - overlooking Federation Square. My friend's relatives had also held a wedding reception in the restaurant.

Approximate cost: $30

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account