Write a review

5 reviews about Cats Cosmopolitan Boarding Cattery

17 May 2012

When I did an inspection at this cattery, the staff member seemed vague (scribbled their contact details on a piece of paper because she couldn't find a business card - and had to copy it carefully as she didn't even know the ph no by heart!). I wasn't overwhelmed with the general feel of the place (cats seemed a bit flat, diarrhoea in some of the trays, 'ambient' music was fuzzing in and out of reception like in some weird horror movie, puddles of water on the floor...) but no one else had availability at the time, and I was going on a work colleague's recommendation. Against my better judgment, I booked.
Now I know why Cats Cosmo was still taking bookings when everyone else was full - the place is a disgrace! When I picked my cat up he was stressed to the eyeballs. There were no solid walls between the enclosures so cats were free to spray on each other and antagonise. My boy isn't even that nervous usually, but this set up gave him no respite from the strange cats either side, and he was clearly stressed and exhausted. He had lost weight and the staff member upon pick up wasn't sure of the names of cats either side of him, suggesting an unfamiliarity with the boarders.
As I carried him out, I noticed there appeared to be cats kept in a room off to the side - what looked a lot like the office or a staff room. I dread to think what the conditions are like in there if they are that horrid in the main boarding area.
I would never board my cat here again - having spoken to others, I am hearing horror story after horror story. It is bad enough worrying about leaving your cat in someone else's care - this place does the entire industry a disservice.

21 Mar 2011

My first time leaving my 2 cats in a cattery. The staff let me settle my cats into their cage. Place seemed clean and looked after with plenty of space for exercise.
When i returned apart from being excited to see me, my cats appeared in good health. Will use this service again.

Anonymous
06 Nov 2009

my cats were treated horrendously and ended up in emergency!!
they were severely dehydrated and unwell, afterwards i heard that others have had similar experiences.
do not go there!

Bharanee 09 Nov 2009 · 60% Trust

hi, i am one of the reviewers (from kensington) and am considering legal action. would you be able to get in touch with me at deepfryed [at] gmail ?

jasminem1 15 Sep 2012 · 70% Trust

TypeI am the new manager. I have been animal handling all my life. I understand the greivences written here but as it is some time now I believe they are hindering any chance I have of running the cattery better as people read a three year old review and judge off that. Please come and inspect the premises yourself before writing us off compleatly please. Thank you your comment in here...

03 Nov 2009

If you love your cats, do not use this cattery. I went overseas for 2
weeks and had them boarded at cats cosmopolitan for 2 weeks. A week
into my trip, I got an email from the staff saying that one of our
cats got hurt and they took him to a local vet for surgery. They had
forgot to take down the vet information I had given them. The cat had
a surgery (which I was told by the staff over phone and email to be a
minor one). It turned out to be a major injury (which was left
unnoticed for a whole day) and the cat was brought back to the cattery
just a few days after surgery even though the wound was under tension
with a good possibility of breaking up and getting infected.

When I got back after two weeks, the wound was very much reinfected
and smelling foul. The wound was NOT small as the cattery had stated.
It was all the way across the poor cat's stomach and further down (a
triangular cut). The vet thinks that he cut himself over a barbed wire
(which is very suspicious). I had to take him to the Lort Smith
Hospital (my preferred vet care provider) for an emergency surgery. He
has had 2 surgeries since then and has very slowly recovering after
spending 2 weeks in the hospital (under the doctor's medical advice).

To make it everything worse, the cattery would not detail what caused
the injury and have so far refused to pay for the cat's medical bills.
In fact the owner has stated that he is out of pocket and is not
covered by insurance and would not pay because I took my cat to my
preferred vet. He has not taken my phone calls after the first time.
Completely unprofessional. I have not had a single call or email from
them asking how my cat was doing in the last 2 weeks.

I would never recommend this place to anyone. This is a horrible
shoddy business that looks like is being run by someone intent on
making money rather than providing proper professional service. On top
of this, this is a business that is not covered by insurance by the
sounds of it - which is illegal.

Again, if you love your cats - find another cattery that is licensed
and ask them for their insurance details before hand and ask for proper
references.

Approximate cost: $450

owlcat 08 May 2011 · 80% Trust

i am so sorry to hear about your experiences. this place sounds like hell. i heard about it through someone in the know and was so glad i never had to go through it.

my thoughts are with you and your cat friends.
ax

jasminem1 15 Sep 2012 · 70% Trust

TypI am the new manager. I have been animal handling all my life. I understand the greivences written here but as it is some time now I believe they are hindering any chance I have of running the cattery better as people read a three year old review and judge off that. Please come and inspect the premises yourself before writing us off compleatly please. Thank youe your comment in here...

19 Apr 2008

Decided last minute to head interstate for a couple of weeks over the Christmas/new year period (~3 weeks). This place was pretty much the only place I could house my cat for that period.

Visited around the start of December, looked ok, cats were clean, didn't smell,the cages looked large. Sounded peaceful with soothing music, falling water etc.

When I dropped my cat off the day before we left, I was not able to visit the area to see her in the new environment. Also a cat escaped, but was caught when I was there the first time..

When I picked my cat up after her ~3 week stay, she was very skinny. Staff didn't say anything that she wasn't eating or and they pretty much hurried me out of the place.

Approximate cost: $16.50/day for 1 cat

KDitz 21 Apr 2009 · 50% Trust

Thank-you for your comments - their website looked slick so i was going to give them a go, but definitely not after your review.

jasminem1 15 Sep 2012 · 70% Trust

I am the new manager. I have been animal handling all my life. I understand the greivences written here but as it is some time now I believe they are hindering any chance I have of running the cattery better as people read a three year old review and judge off that. Please come and inspect the premises yourself before writing us off compleatly please. Thank you

Write a review

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account