8 reviews about Ha Long Bay Restaurant

daisys487
217 reviews · 100% trust · 20500 points
30 Mar 2016

Really nice Vietnamese chicken noodle soup. Friendly staff. Low prices. Quality food.
Favourite dish would have to be the Rice Vermecelli with Spring Rolls and Pork.

19 Dec 2013

Big selection of Vietnamese food and quite traditional. Been here for lunch a few times when I was working close by and it became a quick favourite for catering work lunches

18 Dec 2013

This is a good no-fuss Vietnamese eatery. The menu selection is long, but not varied - it's just the same basic dishes with different options. Having said that though, once you make your choice, your food will be well cooked and nice, with very good flavours. The place is just as you find it - unadorned, unassuming, just as you see it. I had dinner here. My companion had the Chicken Satay Skewer and I had the Crab & Asparagus Soup. The satay was heavy (tear-inducing) on the chili, or some other spice and the soup was good, if just a little bland. For mains, we shared a Vietnamese Chicken Coleslaw and some Chinese Brocolli with Garlic Sauce. Both very good. The service is fine, but don't expect a nicely timed, well spaced meal - all your food will come when it's cooked - whether you're ready for it or not. Our entrees arrived separately, then our mains arrived half way through our entrees. If you can live with that, then this place will be a good haunt for you. Just good tucker - I'd come back here, no problems. There were plenty of other diners here too, so obviously others feel the same way.

Approximate cost: $18.00

lusianac
#711 in Melbourne VIC
337 reviews · 100% trust · 39525 points
02 May 2012

They used to have one shop in the city and I ate there every single week but it shut down after half of the store burnt down. The I was told by a friend there's another store on Victoria street. I love the grilled lemon grass pork chop - it's served with shredded pork, fried egg, vietnamese meat loaf on a bed of vietnamese broken rice- killer combinations. And the chilli oil is so good. The dried pork BBQ and spring rolls are also pretty good- I usually have them on warmer months.

22 Apr 2012

Being a regular to Victoria St Richmond's strip of Vietnamese restaurants for many years, one has emerged a true favourite of ours. So much so that we have to go at least once a fortnight now. The menu is extensive, the food great and has not pandered to the western taste of dulling the flavour! Brilliant value for the price. My all time favourite is the Pork and Prawn Dry soup! You must give it a try. My son's always jump on the Grilled Pork and Spring roll Vermacilli. Service can be a bit slow on a Saturday night, but it's worth the wait.

Approximate cost: $9.00

10 Mar 2010

We eat here a lot even though it is not in our local area. Pretty much everything I have had on the menu is amazing. I'm not a fan of chicken thigh so I don't normally eat their chicken dishes but aside from that a cheap way to eat!

The staff can be a bit slow at times but are generally very helpful

Approximate cost: $15-25

05 Nov 2009

Came here for a group function. Decor was modern, and service was reasonably Prompt. Food was not as tasty as I would have expected, more chinese than vietnamese. Like its been tasrgeted to Australian tastes more than being authentic.

Approximate cost: $15

31 Jul 2007

I eat there at least once a week. The food is always great, and the service is fantastic. They have a great range of dishes, and plenty of lunch specials.

Approximate cost: $6.50

TanL 27 Aug 2007 · 100% Trust

Try the pork spring rolls vermicelli. Great meal and fantastic value for money!

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account