13 reviews about Matsumoto Japanese Restaurant

15 May 2017

Great family friendly large bistro style place with carpet, padded wooden chairs and wooden tables. Good service, good sushi, all the regular things you'd expect on the menu.

anna32
#1 in Templestowe Lower VIC
543 reviews · 100% trust · 77000 points
06 Jun 2016

Went on a sunday night, and the restaurant was three quarters full. I shouldn't have been surprised though. It is a really nice place. 'Nice' in the sense that it is comfortable and cosy, and you feel at home. Not shiny and glamourous nice.
The waiters are also very friendly and helpful.
The food is solid. Reliable and consistently good. Great quality, well executed and well presented dishes.

02 Mar 2016

Food is always fresh. Service is excellent and is very fairly priced. Can eat in or get pick up. The California rolls are up there with best I have ever had.

Approximate cost: $35

04 Jun 2012

The gyozo's are delicious and moist, and fairly priced overall. They do pick up and eat in, which is great if you feel like a casual meal at home.

Approximate cost: $10.00

02 May 2012

Okay, at first glance I thought oh no, not another Chinese Japanese restaurant where the place is run by Chinese who pretend to prepare Japanese food.

Wrong! The head chef for sushi and sashimi is Japanese! If you are ever after value for money and enjoy your sushi and sashimi - head down this way. One of the best deals here is to order the deluxe sushi boat which runs about $80 and has about 60 pieces of sushi and sashimi - enough for two to three people!

Also enjoyable here are the Gyoza and some of the other a la carte sushi such as the Aburi salmon - slivers of salmon atop a bed of rice and heated just so with a gas flame. A mayonnaise type sauce is then added to the top of the salmon to create a smooth creamy effect.

Rice or noodle dishes are also good here and very generous in size. If you order Chicken and rice or Beef Sukiyaki and rice you'll find the bowl enough to share!

If you're up to it they also have a Sukiyaki at the table which is where they will bring fresh veggies, meats and/or seafoods and cook them fresh at your table, although most of the time we can't get through all the sushi and sashimi!

Last but not least try the Green tea ice cream - 2 scoops for $5 which is very reasonable or try some of the Japanese desserts.

Pricing is very reasonable and the quality is very good. A place worth visiting with a few friends so you can share plates and try a few things!

Warning! This place is regularly full so booking ahead is recommended.

Approximate cost: $15

Champagne 07 Oct 2012 · 100% Trust

You've sold me! Can't wait to try it.

30 Dec 2010

This Japanese restaraunt is a winner, and caters for both Vegetarians and meat lovers alike. Food is always fresh and tasty.Always busy for dinner

30 Jul 2010

Delicious fresh Japanese food at very reasonable prices. The vegetarian set "Zen Set" is fantastic value. The hot pot or sukiyaki experience is fun to try and you won't leave feeling hungry that is for sure! If you have a group larger than 2 I recommend calling ahead to reserve a table as this place is always packed (a good sign).

Approximate cost: $15

02 Feb 2010

I have dined at Matsumoto many times now.... its one of the best Japanese restaurants I've been to when talking service, value for money and presentation of food. Their seafood baskets are ENORMOUS!!! The place has a great vibe and you can tell everyone's just loving it there.... yummy yum

Approximate cost: $15

04 Jan 2010

The food at Matsumoto is exceptional. My family and I had a fantastic experience. The staff were friendly and helpful while ordering, the restaurant was well set out and the menu offered a wide range of foods.

10 Dec 2009

This is my favourite restuarant! I love the food, it's reasonably priced and the service is good too. The presentation of the sushi is excellent, I lobe the sushi boats! Great location, right on lygon st.

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account