20 reviews about Shalimar Indian Restaurant

05 Jun 2017

Have been several times in the past year and the food is always some of the best Indian I've had anywhere. The guys always treat you like you're their most important customer. Can't wait till get back there again soon.

04 Feb 2014

Really love this place. Always spick and span and white table cloths and service is great and you can see chef doing the Tandoori thru a glass window. Sometimes if busy service is a little slower but these guys have been there for years. I even won a Persian reug there 3 years ago but that has not influenced my attitude. Good service, great food at reasonanble prices. Approx cost is for 2 people, bottle of wine (but BYO ok) and entrees $80

Approximate cost: $80

05 Sep 2013

W dined here the other night and we seriosly couldnt fault this place. Its location is in Balmain which is only a short ferry ride from the city. The food is excellent and consistant with the best quality cuts of meats and ingredients. Recommend this restaurant but suggest to reserve a table beforehand as it is very popular. Enjoy being nicely full after a meal here.

yodadc 06 Sep 2013 · 100% Trust

I thought you meant brighton, Melbourne !! Silly me :)
Pity cause I LOVE Indian.

30 Aug 2013

came across some reviews that reckon that this was the best indian restaurant in sydney, so, craving some curry, i went to check it out. The staff and chef are maculate and explain the dishes they serve beautifully. No buckets of curries made in bulk here. Beautiful, small serves of lovingly prepared dishes.
Every dish that we ordered that evening was sensational. The Eggplant Chips were unbelievably crispy and the Palak Patta Chaat with the yogurt sauce was so delicious.
It's more expensive than your local Indian, but well worth the price.
we definitely will come back.

17 Nov 2012

We come here often and are always warmly welcomed, the food and service is always great. It is a place we can relax on a Friday night after a working week.

Approximate cost: $20

04 Aug 2012

We loved this place. The food was delicious. Staff were friendly, efficient and accommodated our requests. We will definitely come back again.

Approximate cost: $Varies

04 Aug 2012

I've frequented Shalimar's for years with my family/friends. The food is delicious and the staff are courteous and friendly. I never go anywhere else for Indian cuisine. A big thank you to the beautiful staff!

Sweetsheri1980 04 Aug 2012 · 100% Trust

Sounds great, I think I may have to give it a go!

18 Jun 2012

Great food, relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff. Can't really ask for more than that. They've single-handedly restored my faith in Australia/Indian cuisine.

11 Jun 2012

Best Indian restaurant in Melbourne. Great food, great value. Staff are always very friendly. The fish tikka is a must.(oh,and the tandoori cauliflower, and the keema naan...)

Approximate cost: $15-20

13 Apr 2012

Our family favourite for Indian. Always a reliable and enjoyable meal with attentive friendly staff. Good food, easy parking, always good.

Approximate cost: $13

Write a review

Business Awards

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account