8 reviews about Spot Caffeteria

17 Apr 2014

I have been coming here for years. They have renovated and changed things over time. The coffee is good but sometimes, when it is busy, the noise level is uncomfortable and the tables are too close to each other. The quality can also vary in the food depending on who is in the kitchen. I love their avocado smash when their regular chef is on. They can be amazing but they can also be mediocre, which is a shame. Nevertheless they are worth a try. I have not tried their high tea so I can't vouch for that. Breakfasts are pretty good.

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

I decided to take my mum to high tea with a voucher I found on one of the deal sites.. when we arrived we were asked to just sit downstairs and wait as they were running late.. so we sat and waited with about 6 other couples.. and 10 minutes later were ushered upstairs with all the others ... felt a bit like a classroom activity!
The room was small and poky... and HOT! Its was 32 degrees and felt 40 degrees in the room.
The HIGH TEA 3 tier platter was already on the table.. it looked ok. But was a bit surprised the bread/sandwiches were just plain white sandwich slice bread like from the supermarket and looked a bit average.... The rest was just "ok". Its a shame we didn't have our tea orders taken immediately, we were seated at 3.10pm and didn't get our tea order taken until 3.40 and served at 3.50pm. By then most of the platter was gone and we were just craving tea.
The elderly lady seemed quite friendly but didn't see her too much, the young girl didn't smile once.
We basically left 5 minutes after we received our tea as it was so hot upstairs.
When we went down stairs after saying farewell to the waistress upstairs I asked the gentleman if he wanted to see my voucher... he said I should have given it to the waitress upstairs?! I said well, I wasn't told that by her and im down here now so can I please leave I with you.. He's response was "well im just going to have to go upstairs then". Um hello!! Im the customer.
Wont recommend and wont be back!

26 Dec 2013

Great little cafe. Danielle the owner is an absolute Gem. The coffee is amazing and the food is always great. They have started doing wonderful High Tea Experiences on the weekends. I have bought mine and cannot wait to go. 5 stars all around!
Keep up the good work guys.

30 Oct 2012

Had been a regular every saturday morning some years ago with a group after gym. Had breakfast here recently and was surprised/dissapointed at how much the standards had dropped. Ordered cinamon toast with ricotta cream similar to what I'd ordered years before. Was very average. Hubby's scrambled eggs were average and bacon was bland. How do you get bland flavoured bacon?? Son's pancakes were also very average. Was dissapointed and surprised at how it was all so lacking in flavour. Would think at least one meal was a winner but was not the case. Although they were quiet service was very slow. Coffee though, was great. So many excellent cafe's in this area so shame The Spot is not up to the others standards.

Approximate cost: $15

03 May 2011

Went to Spot for lunch today and was dissappointed. Ordered the Corn fritters which i have had on a previous visit. Earlier they were made with fresh corn were light and crisp and tasted fantastic The recipe must have changed they came out like thick doughy pancakes with frozen corn and tasteless. My daughter ordered the Gnocci which was more an entree sized serve rather than main. no value for money there. Have to say we were greeted pleasantly on arrival by the male staff member but his attitude changed when i presented my Entertainment discount voucher. He made a face and gave me a rude look handed my change and that was it. No more pleasantries from this man. Definitely not coming back. If they are not happy to get customers with vouchers they should not advertise their cafe in the book. Definitely overpriced if not using the discount voucher.

Approximate cost: $16

26 Jul 2010

The main drawback here is the service. It's just too slow...really slow. For a breakfast place it should be snappy as who wants to wait over half an hour for a bowl of porridge. It is quite good, when it arrives though. Lunch is also the same. Come if you have lots of time. The staff have been known to be rude so beware. It is also a little pricey for a cafe.

Approximate cost: $19

19 Oct 2009

The tables are a little cramped. Spot makes the best soya chai latte within a 5 km radius!. food is always nice but a little on the expensive side. service is a little slow. kids menu is good, and courtyard nice in summer.

Approximate cost: $15

Anonymous
30 Aug 2007

Coffee is amazing. Worth going just for the coffee. Food is also very good but too expensive for what you get. Staff is pretty goo except for a couple.

tamtams 20 Jun 2010 · 0% Trust

I agree, best coffee in the area. The food is also nice and different. I visit there often and will continue to do so.

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account