4 reviews about Step Ahead

06 Feb 2017

Like another reviewer I had a terrible experience with this shop. Rude, no customer empathy, sarcastic & agressive. Nice shoes but very expensive [Retracted generalisation] I spent over $640 on 3 pairs of sandals - on SALE. The thread of one of the shoes came off after 6 wears. I took it back in original box with receipt, I was dismissed & told pulled thread (about 4cm) was 'normal' they cut the thread & said 'there fixed!'. Try as I may they wouldn't help. Given they seemed to be very familiar with small claims court, this must me a familiar situation for them. My advice buy at your peril, in this shop high prices does NOT mean quality or after sales service - I suggest stay clear, try on there & buy in another store online!!!

15 Jan 2014

When I am looking for shoes I always visit Step ahead in Glenhuntly Road Elsternwick. They have a fabulous range of exclusive Spanish and Italian shoes, sandals and boots. Wonders are unique brand made in Spain and other brand Step Ahead carry are Bosari an Italian brand. The staff are very helpful and you are able to get shoes that you will not find anywhere else. If you cannot find a shoe to suit the staff help you find one that will suit your foot. Thanks Julie for your all your help! Sue

mariaw805 06 Feb 2017 · 60% Trust

If you have any after sales problem you're in trouble. Nice staff turn to snarly aggressive unhelpful people.

30 Nov 2010

I've spent a lot of money at this shop over the years - and it's pricey, but I'd always been happy until recently. I bought a $200 pair of Wonders shoes (supposed to be v comfortable), but after 4 hours of wear had a large sore on my foot. Took the shoes back to the shop where the store attendant was trying to be helpful. The owner, Geoff, interrupted and was incredibly rude, yelling at me, saying "we're not fitting specialists" and being very very aggressive. I will never shop there again, and strongly recommend that anyone who can find the same product elsewhere go elsewhere. The owner of this shop should leave client interaction to others as he has no concept of what good customer service is.

Approximate cost: $200

susanm25 15 Jan 2014 · 80% Trust

Wearing a new shoe for four straight hours, will always give you blisters if you have not worn them in!
Best to wear for an hour or two a few days at home before wearing them out! I have never had a problem with any shoes or service at Step ahead and I believe this review to be very unnfair.

mariaw805 06 Feb 2017 · 60% Trust

I had a very similar experience - they were rude with terrible customer service! I have also reviewed & will not be going back & will spread ghe word!

29 Jan 2008

THIS SHOP HAS SHOES THAT ARE NOT EVERYWHERE ELSE - EXCELLENT QUALITY AND AN INTERESTING RANGE OF STYLES. STAFF HAS A GREAT KNOWLEDGE OF PRODUCT INFORMATION. ALSO SELLS BAGS AS WELL TO MATCH

Approximate cost: $200

mariaw805 06 Feb 2017 · 60% Trust

Excellent quality HA!!! Threads coming off shoes that cost over $200 in SALE ... I don't call that good quality, but even worse is the after sales service ... no it can't be described as service! Just rude!

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account