24 reviews about The Cobblers Last

01 Sep 2015

I bought a vintage leather handbag overseas and it needed some repairs to give it a new life... the leatherwork and zip repair was great and I now have myself a beautiful accessory!

30 Aug 2015

I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to get my shoes shined with the Cobblers Last as part of Melbourne Spring Fashion Week.
It was my first shoe shine and I quite enjoyed it! They made pleasant conversation, and didn't make me feel bad for the terrible state of my boots.
I walked away with gorgeous shiny boots. Very happy!

10 Jul 2015

This is a review for The Cobblers Last in Madame Brussels Lane - near 2 Lonsdale St. Never bring your shoes here to get fixed. Awful attitude, poor customer service and rude to customers. If you don't wish to be subject to all of the above and overpay for dismal service, take your shoes somewhere else.

Dropped in a pair of expensive flats on impression that these guys would do a good job only to be disappointed and have them delayed at the cobblers for 3 weeks, despite them being promised in a week. After a week, I had not heard back, hence went in person to follow up. Was told that they were having issues with their machine and that they had a backlog to clear. They could not even find my shoes when described and turned out they were shoved in some box with a heap of other shoes just piled on top - no apologies were offered for the delay nor extension of time requested prior to this, however was told that my job would be prioritized given the delay and ready by the next day. Gave them a few extra days and followed up again at the end of the week (again no notice about delays expected)- only to find that the shoes were still not ready and was again promised they would be ready in half an hour. Went back after two hrs again to find that they were again still not ready. Eventually picked them up (2 weeks late) and when gave cobblers feedback that the delays and lack of communication was completely unacceptable and that I should not have to pay full price for the repairs, one man kept being aggressively asking what I thought the job was worth - frankly certainly not the $80 and angst/abuse received that it cost. Chose not to engage with the sort of rude behavior and aggressive questioning and ended up paying for overpriced dismal service.

To anyone expecting a superior service for their quoted prices and quirky cobbler decor, do not fall for the same rubbish customer treatment and overall experience.

24 Jun 2015

I have been going to the Cobblers Last for years. They have repaired and restored my shoes expertly, with care and attention to detail. The service is always a delight. The shop also has interesting curios and John and Luke are full of helpful information about leather care etc. They are now in an easy location near Victoria Market - in the free tram zone!

07 May 2015

These guys did an amazing job on our shoes, and we highly recommend them all the time to friends! We go there a couple of times a year and they have never let us down!

Approximate cost: $25

17 Apr 2015

Excellent service. The Cobblers Last totally sorted out a very well-worn and much loved pair of crepe soled Grensons for us. Friendly professional service and a great new store. Real craftsmen and highly recommended.

17 Oct 2014

I have been taking my shoes here for the last two years and I have never been disappointed. Not only are these guys lovely but they do a great job, whether it be colour matching soles, completing challenging requests or the final polish to ensure the shoes look brand new, I couldn't speak more highly of them. The value for money is excellent and the work that they do lasts.

16 Oct 2014

I had a lovely handbag purchased in Venice a few years ago which I wanted a shoulder strap added to. Quite a tricky job for a few reasons. Well, Luke took great care to match the leather colour and quality, we met several times to measure and make sure I was happy with the way it was looking, and he even sent me photos of buckles to choose from. He was meticulous about the detail. I'm delighted with my new strap and would recommend The Cobbler's Last to anybody wanting good old-fashioned, quality, attentive service and workmanship.

25 Aug 2014

One look at my shoes when finished, and you could see the quality of the work done. These guys are serious about the work they do. Very friendly, easy to get along with staff. And the lovely smell of leather that hits you when you enter...

Approximate cost: $50

17 Jun 2014

What a find! Old fashioned service and outstanding work at a very reasonable price. I've had two pairs of shoes fixed there in the last few weeks - one a heel and the other full sole and some repairs to straps etc. They've been quick (the heel they were able to repair while I did my market shopping), lovely to deal with and the shoes are better than new. And their shop is amazing!

Approximate cost: $25-50

Write a review

Business Awards

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account