18 reviews about The Malaya

25 May 2016

Last night was the second time at the Malaya, fantastic restaurant, food suburb, service faultless. Its in my top 3 and I will be making the trip into the city to eat more often. A little pricey, safe to say count on $100 per head ( allows for drinks)

Approximate cost: $100

17 Jul 2015

The food at The Malaya is as exceptionally wonderful as the view from the restaurant. I love the coconut beef rendang and the hainanese chicken. I really like that they have an open style kitchen area, so you can see what's going on.

05 Sep 2013

We enjoyed a delicious meal. The Beef Rendang was outstanding along with a Szechuan chicken dish with dried chilli's made for a most enjoyable evening. Service is great and very efficient, it is located on darling harbour with water views and lots of activity happening in the area. Strongly recommend Otak Otak & Crab Can Choy Boy. This guys also have a great take of there version of Singapore Curry Fish. Also there is a solid wine list to boot.

29 Aug 2013

The Malaya is our favourite Asian restaurant. We were regular customers when we lived in Sydney. We usually order Popiah for entrée, and always a Prawn Sambal for mains which is definitely for the brave one only.
The waiting staff were extremely attentive and we could not have wished for a more enjoyable evening overlooking the water and lights of the harbour.

Katharina 29 Aug 2013 · 100% Trust

i will check this place out...never have a decent popiah in sydney ...can not wait

04 Mar 2013

The Malaya has the best service, not to mention the food! The waiters are attentive and helpful in their advice. The food is to die for, especially their chocolate ball dessert. Really reasonably priced given its in the city.

Approximate cost: $28

03 Jun 2012

The food is exceptional. There is a wide variety to choose from, and it's all great. Really high quality stuff. The staff are professional and quick, you'll never be left waiting for a drink or to order. For the quality of the food, the prices are very reasonable.

From our visits to the Malaya, it's obvious they cater for large groups as well.

The views are good too, you're overlooking Darling Harbour and you can see the boats coming and going.

Would highly recommend.

localperson 03 Jun 2012 · 100% Trust

I've heard great things about this place. I'll definitely have to go check it out soon!

28 Jul 2011

Went for my friend's birthday dinner with 10 people. $48 banquet pretty overpriced. Mains seemed smallish serve for the price we pay. The place was too crowed and too noisy. Food taste good.

17 Jan 2011

Some of the tastiest food you can get in Sydney. They are fast, efficient and friendly. They always have a special dish which is very good value. It is very reminiscent of a typical eatery somewhere in Asia, which adds to the appeal.

tinasparkle33 28 May 2012 · 100% Trust

Thank you - will ask for the special dish when we visit

16 Dec 2010

Food here tastes great and is worth its price. There are great views from the restaurant and the service is wonderful.

18 Jul 2010

One of my top three restaurants in Sydney for price and quality. Best satay sauce I have had globally.

Write a review

Earn Vouchers and Rewards

Customers! You can earn vouchers simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account