11 reviews about Villa Romana Trattoria

28 May 2013

Me and my brother walked around Lygon st, we were starving.. we were looking a restaurant to eat and we have been passed by quite a few restaurants .. we decided to try Villa Romana..

Oh, the food was bad. The pasta was oily, under cooked and the sauce was bland.
Staff was inattentive, rude and didnt even say thanks or good bye after payment.
I would dine / eat here again.

ReecesCheckYaPieces 31 May 2013 · 0% Trust

It would appear that societies serious lack of manners is showing up in all walks of life. A disappointing experience for you both, after all, manners are 'free' and should be used freely, especially in business! Regards, Reeces

25 Jul 2012

Why else would you go down the Lygon streets but for some of the finest Italian dishes Melbourne has to offer. In my last visit to Melbourne during June, I tried to dine at different venues but in the end I did dine here twice. Worth revisiting.

Great food and good ingredients, I won't say that this place is the best in town, but definitely one of the finest.

MazB35 25 Jul 2012 · 100% Trust

i agree its a great place to dine at!

24 Jul 2012

We Recently had dinner on a Saturday night. Staff were very polite. I recommend you the always great spaghetti marinara or the linguini with fresh mussels. I am keen to go back again.

johns131 27 Jul 2012 · 80% Trust

Just thought I'd drop you a line to say thanks for sharing your experience.

14 Jul 2012

In my humble opinion ... this is one of the finest Italian cuisine restaurants in Lygon Street!
each time I have dined, the meals were authentic, freshly prepared and delicious

the pasta sauce is so devine and I love their gnocchi!

service is good and attentive

11 Nov 2009

Very good. I have dined here several times now and I have to say ALWAYS the quality of the food is excellent. Generous servings that are both Fresh and Tasty. The pasta practically melts in your mouth. I love it! I have dined with a group and on my own. All meals were different and each person gave a good appraisal. The only gripe I have is the service....it needs to improve. They are not attentive as they could be and often forget things. Their overall friendliness also needs to improve, however after saying that - I have never felt pressure to leave the restaurant even near closing time. Best meal fettucine linguini.

Approximate cost: $22.00

07 Nov 2009

Friends of mine have come to this restaurant often and we have dined a couple of times recently. We found the place not quite we expected from others' rating. The place is okay and can be all too busy. While it is your typical Italian dishes, I could be more impressed if there's something different on offer.

Anonymous
19 Sep 2008

beautiful night in Melbourne and we decided to go out to dinner. Service was friendly but amaterurish (shy man of Indian descent) - struggled with english. Drinks and food came quickly but 2 of our 3 main courses were disappointing. My fettucine was too watery and bland - pizza was ok but once again, base lacked taste. would recommend for the friendliness and location - try somewhere different if you're after good Italian food though

Approximate cost: $20

26 Apr 2008

Arrived early waiting for friends, staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome. Great atmosphere for our girls night out. Great menu and food tastes delicious but only 1 thing was a bit annoying - our waiter did not know much about any questions asked about the menu. This was not a huge deal as must have been a one off as has not happened before and I will always go back there. This is my 5th time here. Servings were generous and a good variety to pick from the menu. Noticed there is a function room upstairs so I am very interested for future doo's. Great dessert and we were the last to leave and nobody pressured us to leave. Give this one a go you will not be dissapointed.

Approximate cost: $30

13 Apr 2008

Had dinner with a few friends and loved the the alfresco dining & atmosphere. However, service was a little disappointing as the waiter was unsure of details regarding a few of the meals offered on the menu & was a little vague on many things-I think he may have also delayed passing on our selections to the kitchen as we waited almost an hour before receiving our main meals. In saying that, the food was worth the wait. Generous servings and fresh ingredients. Coffee and desert were also great! Would definitely go back but hope service is a little improved.

Approximate cost: $27.00

02 Mar 2008

As I had already had dinner it was just a coffee and a chat with friends, The atmosphere was busy but no to loud, the coffee was among the worst I've ever had, but the garlic pizza and oysters (killpatrick) were fresh and amazing. Service was friendly and promt.

Approximate cost: $25

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account