17 reviews about The European

anna32
#1 in Templestowe Lower VIC
543 reviews · 100% trust · 77000 points
16 Jan 2015

​
Time and time again I find myself returning to The European. There is something about it that draws you back.
Service here is impeccable. The waiters are attentive without constantly hovering about your table. Not sure how they manage it, but somehow they are never too far away when you want them and quick to respond with a ready smile and thoughtful reply.
The atmosphere is sophisticated and classy, but not hard or shiny. It has a warm homely feel to it.
As for the food, the menu is an appetizing read with all bases (meat, fish, vegetables, dairy, sweets & wine) covered, and when it comes to your table it smells, looks and tastes fantastic. What I particularly like is the fact that the core menu changes each season and the specials menu offers additional variety in between.
The bill is mid-range, which I consider an absolute bargain considering the quality of the food, restaurant service levels etc.
One of the institutions of melbourne, and definitely well deserved.

14 Jan 2014

Top notch food top notch service with friendly and very efficient staff
The food was amazing. With all "classy" restaurants price was steep, but considering what you pay for a pub meal definitely worth the money. Very filling and very tasty.
Very busy when we went for dinner yet staff were still on the ball and very efficient.
Give it a try. I want to go back for the coffee as I have heard it is the best going!

08 Apr 2013

Ahh, The European! My favourite restaurant to go to when i am in Melbourne. You really feel like you are in a cafe in Europe when you step inside this beautiful restaurant.
The service is top notch, very personable. The food is out of this world! My favourite is the Beef Wellington, gorgeous...

robertn6 10 Apr 2013 · 100% Trust

Sounds like it's worth a try.

17 Jan 2013

I am going to admit it, I have been here before, and the only reason I returned was because the spagetti marinara was to die for.

The first time around I was in heaven and couldn't express how great it was. One of my pet hates creeped up though...when I asked for parmesan (yes, on my seafood dish, stop judging me!) the lady came over with her little grinder to do it for me. That is lovely that you want to help, but I want more than you are willing to give me, so you should just give the customers some shaved stuff so they don't feel akwards telling you "a little more please".

Second time around was the same parmesan stand-off, but this time I made her grind until I had enough and that was so time. Maybe her wrist pain will prompt her to tell her boss that the staff would save a lot of time if they were not grinding parmesan over clients pasta dishes....

Anyway, enough about that. The food was amazing, again! I know where to come when I want a fresh bowl (order the main, as the entree will be very small) of perfect seafood pasta. Yum!

16 Sep 2012

We booked this restaurant before heading to a show at the theatre next door. The atmosphere is great, buzzy friendly place. The staff were really polite, knew their wine and food menu. The service was quick too, which I always look for. The inside of the place was very French. As was the wine list. Not a huge food menu, mainly all day breakfast and a few other things. I had the mushroom risotto. It was beautiful. Highly recommend that dish. The French wine was divine too.

Approximate cost: $30

robertn6 10 Apr 2013 · 100% Trust

European and I like it. Good review.

04 May 2012

So far I have been there twice. First time I when there just for Breakfast and Coffee. The breakfast was amazing plus the latte that I have ordered was excellent. I ended up was really full. Satisfied!! The second time, I went there just for sweets and coffee. Love this place!

26 Feb 2012

Came here after a late night out for a friends birthday. They're one of few restaurants that are opened late in Melbourne, which is why we decided to come here. Should have done some research beforehand because this is not your average restaurant. The cuisine is very different - e.g., they had like smoked eel and foie gras. The prices were very high as well, chips in a cup were $10! My friend and I shared the gnocchi with ricotta cheese. For the price, we felt that the dish was way too small even for one person. The gnocchi was panned fried and very tasty but I've had better.


The staff were very friendly and the service was very good though considering there were 12 of us there and it was 2am in the morning. The restaurant itself was small and the furnishing had a lovely vintage feel to it.
 The atmosphere seemed very posh and sophisticated as well.

Overall, good experience but I don't think I would be back, just because their menu wasn't really my cuppa tea and I felt for what you got, it was very expensive.

Approximate cost: $25

19 Jan 2012

Was seated in the crampy 2 seater table in the hall way up the back of the restaurant. This was not the most awesome position. However, the food was oldfashioned big rustic serves full of flavour. I was very full and well impressed. Would definitely go back.

Approximate cost: $28-$40

17 Dec 2010

nice ambience and a feeling that we have arrived at somewhere sophisticated. food was generally good however i left somewhat wanting more to the experience. maybe the food although was good, did not quite match up to the lovely atmosphere

Approximate cost: $35

20 Aug 2010

Had an absolutely lovely dinner here with some family and friends from interstate who also enjoyed it immensely. Great steaks and salads and extensive wine lost. Good desserts and coffee, attentive waiters. Had a table near the door which is never the best but I suppose someone has to have it! I would go back definitely.

Approximate cost: $20-40

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account