8 reviews about Bill's Take Away

05 May 2018

My father Bill, is who began the legacy of the greatest fish and chips in east hawthorn. It would make him happy and proud for those running the business today to continue the quailty food and service we all as a family provided to many loyal customers in our time working in the shop. This business was my fathers baby, look after it.

27 Feb 2014

I visited this takeaway 2 weeks ago and went back today because they have delicious fresh fish. Their grilled flake is beautifully seasoned, and we love the variety of food on offer (includes burgers, dim sims, prawns, scallops etc). It's a good idea to ring ahead and order because they are busy and there is always a 15min minimum wait.

Approximate cost: $10.00

05 Jul 2012

Wonderful succulent and fresh fish cooked to perfectio and so were the chips. Their fish and chips are so delicious and they are the best I've ever eaten.

Approximate cost: $about $15 for 2

joey22 05 Jul 2012 · 100% Trust

You make me want to go

11 Mar 2012

Sine the Queenscliffe Fish & Chip went downhill a few years ago, Bills has taken over as the best Fish & Chip shop I've experienced. All of there stuff is hand made. No pre packaged rubbish. The staff are very friendly.

I have friends drive 15-20 minutes just to go to this Fish & Chip shop.

Anonymous
14 Jan 2011

My son who worked nearby ate regularly at Bills and was always telling me how great it was and then I tried it and they really are the freshest and tastiest fish and chips in town.

Approximate cost: $6

23 Feb 2010

Best fish and chips restaurant in Melbourne! Their fishes very moist and chips crunchy and golden and very well priced as well! Staffs are very friendly too and you will find yourself coming back again (I know I did).

13 Oct 2009

Lovely moist fish done in a crispy, crunchy batter. Golden hand cut chips and potato cakes that are crisp on the outside and oh so fluffy on the inside. The most reliable fish and chip shop we know. Always great quality, not oily and always fresh. The people behind the counter are friendly too.

12 Jul 2007

Looking for good old fashioned fish and chips? Sick of really thin pieces fish with no taste? Don't let the name of this place fool you into thinking its just another takeaway joint. I don't often eat fish and chips these days, but these guys are good. I saw a story about their business on SBS and it talked about how they make everything from scratch, nothing packaged or pre-prepared here. They buy all their fish twice a week direct from the Footscray wholesale fish market, their potatoes they buy whole and wash and cut them into chips themselves. They seemed to take real pride and care in what they were doing. "The oil needs to be at precisely 180-190 degrees". So my wife and I decided to drive over and try them out one night. And it was definitely worth it. Prices are very reasonable too.

Approximate cost: $0

Chippie 14 Aug 2009 · 70% Trust

Great Fish and chips!

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account