9 reviews about Cafe Orange

19 Aug 2013

We went there for dinner tonight to catch up with a friend from interstate. The service we received was great-very friendly and happy to help. I ordered the saganaki and roast potatoes and neither was really what I was after. Firstly the cheese wasn't saganaki-tasted like melted tasty cheese-it also didn't have the texture of saganaki. Also the potatoes were described as rosemary potatoes and there was one tiny rosemary leaf in the bowl and no flavour. My friends quite enjoyed their food though and loved the dessert platter. Maybe some items are better than others. It was quite dark inside but it felt quite cosy. If I come back I will try something different.

23 Feb 2013

Pretty decent quality food, but everything with the staff seems to be a hassle. If you don't want to apply a normal level standard of service don't work in a cafe, you bring a bad image to the rest of the staff and owners. Apart from that it's worth a look in.

26 Jul 2011

Iconic Windsor end cafe and restaurant, set in a woodfired terraced house. Lovely courtyard, candlelit over summer. Seating out the front is for the hip and trendy Chapel St admirers, but can be entertaining nonetheless. Food is great, so is the wine and record-playing music. Staff are all good-looking, cool and snobby, unofrtunately unless you're friends with them the service can be pretty lame.

30 Jun 2010

The service was terrible. We had made a booking well in advance for a big group told we would be in the private room, when we arrived there were other people there and was told we have been moved to the main area. The tables were very small and squashed for the number of people we had and we waited 1.5 hours for the meals to arrive on massive plates with very very little on them.... dissapointing. Alhough the food was excellent in quality I do admit. We then waited another 45 minutes at least for our dessert to come out we were all well and truely ready to go home. Not returning there in a hurry.

Approximate cost: $28

08 Jul 2009

Cafe Orange has great tasting food and the best coffee in the area by far! There are different sections to suit what ever mood you in such as the rear courtyard on a summer's day, the fireplace in winter, or on Chapel Street for some people gazing. Service is great.

Approximate cost: $30

Anonymous
25 May 2009

cafe orange has a great menu, lots of different choices, have never been disappointed with a meal there, however the service leaves a LOT to be desired. On every visit we have had to wait ages for service & orders, if the menu and food were not so good we would never have been back!

Approximate cost: $25

28 Nov 2007

Usually great food and great service, nice wine list, great sitting outside in the summer down the more relaxed windsor end of Chapel St !! Turns into a pretty cool bar at night

23 Nov 2007

Probably one of the most popular cafes in Windsor. Always busy.

Food is really good. Great menu with plenty of choice. Wine list is plentiful. Seems to have been a while since they changed the menu, so if you're a regular you're probably tried most of it.

Ask about their oysters. They're often really good.

Beware, Sat and Sun could be hard to get a table and they make you stand on the street, which I hate. They really need somewhere better for people waiting for tables.

Also, if you're sitting outside on the street beware - only half of the outside tables are licensed. However, there is an outdoor area at the back - not sure if I should advertise this! I like the fact that you can generally get a seat outside and not on Chapel!

Approximate cost: $25

03 Aug 2007

Great coffee, food and service. Cool ambience. Open early and late. Orange is one of my favourite Melbourne cafe's at the village end of Chapel St.

Approximate cost: $24

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account