26 reviews about Oscar's Hotel and Cafe Bar

27 Nov 2017

Met friends for dinner here and sat in one of the quieter areas. Large menu and friendly staff but the meals were average. The fish dishes were not crisp but a little "soggy". The prices were around bistro prices so we were all a bit disappointed.

18 Dec 2014

Best smoked salmon salad in the entire Ballarat Region. I loved it, tasty and with oodles of smoked salmon. But there was no gluten free or vegan desserts on offer, and the service was erratic at best. Not sure that I would go back, even if it was to taste the delicious well presented salad.

Approximate cost: $20

30 Oct 2013

the entrée pizza was AMAZING, if anyone is going there sometime soon should or Must order it. I also hade a pumpkin risotto which to me was average. The Staff member were very nice and I would go back again sometime soon.

25 Sep 2012

i went here few weeks back for a friends birthday dinner and had the chicken parma now im a very very fussy eater but thumbs up to oscar's for one of the best ones ive had! the price was high then most others but i would happily pay it cause it was well worth it

23 Sep 2012

I love Oscars' function room and the overall place itself has a great atmosphere, however the food is a let down. I've had dinner a few times here and have found that for the quality of the food in comparison to other restaurants it has been overpriced.

Approximate cost: $20

29 Aug 2012

I had a dinner and drink there with my freinds,but the quality was not good ,and the foods had a bad smell and low quality

15 Oct 2011

I have visited Oscars a number of times, however the last time I went I was very disappointed. They were not overly busy, but service was a little slow. I ended up with what was very likely to be food poisoning at 3 the following morning which affected me for a few days afterwards after eating a chicken parma. The time before I was there with a pre-booked group of 12 and we had specifically asked for a table near the double doors and outdoor area as we had children with us, but we were put into a cramped room with no air-conditioning (it was a hot night at the time) and service was slow. A shame because all of my other experiences there had been positive up to that point. Would not go back now for fear of getting sick again.

Approximate cost: $22

14 Jul 2011

Wow i had an amazing time there for dinner. The food was amazing and the cocktail drinks are to die for. I would so go there again.

29 Jun 2011

Beautiful meals, beautiful place, great service and never had a bad meal there, always have great prices and a lovely atmosphere.

05 Jun 2011

The food is competently made and I have never had a terrible meal here. The building itself is the strongest feature and it is a pleasant place to have a meal or drinks. Last time I went I ordered a desert from the specials menu & was charged the regular menu price. When I pointed this out and asked to be refunded the difference, the staff member appeared annoyed. Tough. Don't advertise a special then and then try and get away with charging full price.

Write a review

Earn Points

Customers! You can earn points simply by reviewing the businesses you've used!

View rewards

Business Owners

Want more customers? Join the Happy Customers Program to promote your business with word-of-mouth.

Get a professional looking profile with no advertisements, access tools to attract more customer reviews, receive free marketing materials, use the Live Reviews Widget on your website, plus lots more...

See how it works

Upgrade Your Account